Early Learning Champions Awards Luncheon Was a Great Community Celebration!

The Friends of EOCF hosted a wonderful community celebration at Club Green Meadows on May 10th! Senator Patty Murray welcomed guests via an inspiring video as she congratulated the awardees and extended her gratitude to all who work tirelessly for young children and families. (view the video here) Joel Ryan, Executive Director of Washington Association of Head Start and ECEAP (WSA), updated guests on the funding status and current and future trends in early learning.

It was a privilege to honor the eleven community members pictured here for their excellence as Early Learning Champions. Pictured from left to right: Jan Flock, Amy Lee and Youth Services at Ft.Vancouver Reg. Library, Nancy Trevena, Nonie Laurine, Joy Studer and Messiah Lutheran Church, Karen Kunkler, Talia Shide, Sarah Theberge, Debbie Jennerjohn, Diane Loghry and Dr. Jane Lanigan. The southwest Washington community is grateful for their dedication and important work.

Generous guests donated $2500 to purchase books to give children birth to five years old in EOCF’s early learning programs. They will take home these books as their very own.

Thank you to Katie Gillespie and The Columbian for reporting on the event as shown at the link below.


EOCF believes that everyone who supports early childhood education is a champion! We trust that you agree.