Early Learning Champions Awards Luncheon Was a Great Community Celebration!

The Friends of EOCF hosted a wonderful community celebration at Club Green Meadows on May 10th! Senator Patty Murray welcomed guests via an inspiring video as she congratulated the awardees and extended her gratitude to all who work tirelessly for young children and families. (view the video here) Joel Ryan, Executive Director of Washington Association of Head Start and ECEAP (WSA), updated guests on the funding status and current and future trends in early learning.

It was a privilege to honor the eleven community members pictured here for their excellence as Early Learning Champions. Pictured from left to right: Jan Flock, Amy Lee and Youth Services at Ft.Vancouver Reg. Library, Nancy Trevena, Nonie Laurine, Joy Studer and Messiah Lutheran Church, Karen Kunkler, Talia Shide, Sarah Theberge, Debbie Jennerjohn, Diane Loghry and Dr. Jane Lanigan. The southwest Washington community is grateful for their dedication and important work.

Generous guests donated $2500 to purchase books to give children birth to five years old in EOCF’s early learning programs. They will take home these books as their very own.

Thank you to Katie Gillespie and The Columbian for reporting on the event as shown at the link below.…/early-learning-champions-celebr…/

EOCF believes that everyone who supports early childhood education is a champion! We trust that you agree.

Congratulations to the 2017 Early Learning Champions!

The Friends of EOCF are pleased to announce the 2017 Early Learning Champions Award recipients who were chosen because of their outstanding investment of time, talent, and treasure in programs that support birth-to-five education.

  • Alan Ham Leadership Award: Debbie Jennerjohn – Ultimate Truck Service – former EOCF Parent Policy Council and Board Member
  • Community Early Learning Champion: Dr. Jane Lanigan – WSU Vancouver-Human Development
  • Community Early Learning Champion: Sarah Theberge – Clark College-Early Childhood Ed.
  • Community Early Learning Staff Person: Diane Loghry – Camas School District
  • Community Early Learning Staff Person: Nancy Trevena – Educational Opportunities for Children & Families (EOCF)
  • Community Early Learning Volunteer: Jan Flock – Evergreen School Dist. Occupational Therapist
  • Community Early Learning Volunteer: Nonie Laurine – Y’s Care Children’s Program-YWCA Clark
  • Community Partner: Youth Services Staff – Ft. Vancouver Reg. Library Dist.
  • Community Partner: Messiah Lutheran Church – Joy Studer
  • Community Outstanding New Professional: Talia Shide – Children’s Home Society
  • EOCF Business Partner: Karen Kunkler – Colonial Life Benefits Counselor

The Selection Committee had quite a challenge choosing only seven awardees, because all of the nominees are true champions! Note that there are two award recipients in four of the seven categories!  Please join us in congratulating these “Champions” and make plans now to honor them and celebrate early learning at the sixth annual:

Early Learning Champions Awards Luncheon, Wednesday, May 10, 2017, 12-1:30 p.m.

Buffet opens at 11:30

Club Green Meadows at 7703 NE 72nd Avenue, Vancouver

Reservations are still $20 or $160 for a table of 8 and are available on EOCF’s website at:

click here or or 360.567.2701

Enjoy succinct presentations and general seating—except reserved tables for “Champions” and sponsors.

Thank you, 2017 Champions, for your passionate contributions to our early learning efforts. Thank you, everyone, for your participation and ongoing support.

Thank you to our generous sponsors: Aetna, Pacific Continental Bank, Winston and Jan Asai, D & E Auto Care, EOCF Board Members, Friends of EOCF, LeeAnna Murray, Merna Folkerts, Pacific Office Automation, USI and Ultimate Truck Service.

See you on May 10th for our community celebration!


Nothing Found

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria